## City of Wellsville 411 Main Wellsville, KS 66092

The regular meeting of the Wellsville City Council was held on Wednesday, May 10<sup>th</sup> 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wellsville City Council meeting room, located at 411 Main. Councilmen present were Chuck Rutledge, Nichole Pruitt, Scott Hutchinson and Cory Cunningham. Department heads present were City Superintendent Darien Kerr and Chief Danny Hackler.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve the consent agenda and the minutes from the previous meeting. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 4-0.

Councilman Luke Henry entered the meeting at 6:04 p.m.

Mayor Lytle opened the meeting up for public comments.

KwiKom spoke to council about a possible letter of support to build fiber-optic internet to every premise in rural Wellsville. Council agreed to write a letter of support.

County Commissioner Don Stottlemire gave the County report.

Resolution 01-0510-23 the Dispatch system contribution agreement was brought before council for approval and discussion. The agreement states that year 2023 The City of Wellsville would pay \$50,000 in year 2023, \$50,000 in year 2024 and a calculated percentage of County population in prior Calendar year 2025 through 2032 for dispatch services.

Discussion was that we shouldn't have to pay for Dispatch services until EMS is out of our Fire Department building since they are getting free rent.

Councilman Chuck Rutledge motioned to table the agreement and have staff speak with Franklin County with our concerns. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Resolution 02-0510-23 the agreement with the EMS Station was presented. The county contribution will be \$516,340 and the end of the term agreement is December 31, 2032. Councilwoman Nicole Pruitt moved to approve Resolution 02-0510-23. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

The board appointments were brought before council.

Zoning Appeals Board: Chairman-open Member-Elba Unruh Member-open Member-open Member-Bill Oshel Secretary-Tammy Jones Library Board: President-Kandace Kline Vice President-Ann Unruh Secretary-Alise Chandler Treasurer-Emily Bradbury NKLS Rep-Rita Anderson Member-Becky MacDonald

Planning Commission: Chairman-Jeanine Berrier Vice Chairman-Sarah Klamm Member-Casey Lytle Member-Lee Martin Member-Joel Partridge Member-Stacy Bless Member-Robert Thomas Secretary-Kari Rogers

Councilman Chuck Rutledge moved to approve the boards as presented. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Chuck moved to approve Luke Henry Council President. Councilman Scott Hutchinson seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

City Superintendent Darien Kerr gave the Public Works update.

Chief Danny Hackler gave the Police Department activity report. Chief reported on some illegal narcotics that were taken off the street by officers. Chief is working on Grants for IED from Firehouse Subs for the Pool, City Hall and Community Center.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to adjourn the meeting. Councilman Luke Henry seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

City Clerk Tammy Jones